When Life Hands You a Lemon Moment

LemonadeMy students inspire me on a daily basis; their resilience is magical. When I stop and think about it, it really is quite amazing that a child can have a really rough hour, afternoon, or even a whole day but then somehow wake up the next morning, put their feet on the ground, and a smile on their face. I wish adults could remember to do that too, myself included.

Just the other day, I woke up with the dreaded laryngitis. The seasons have changed and with it comes the annual flu. This year, however, I’m not at liberty to take a sick day–those days ended in exchange for my name on the company door. So when I had to text all of my scheduled clients and tell them I was unable work with them due to the fact I literally could not speak, it made me sad. I had a “Lemon” moment.

See, I truly love what I do, and as such I enjoy waking up every morning to get my day started. I walk out the door with a mission: to help my students gain confidence in their academic and life goals. When I don’t get to do that, it bums me out! It got me thinking,  “That’s what it must feel like to be a kid again.” Kids generally love the freedom of just being a kid, and it bums them out when they can’t do what they love. Kids, however, are much better than adults at taking their “lemon” moments and turning them into something better, something magical. I am constantly amazed at how my little students who struggle in reading, writing, or just sitting still long enough to listen my instructions can take these challenges and view them through a different lens. Yes, they have their “lemon” moments but they are quicker than their older counterparts to rebound and get back to the business of being a kid. Lemons be gone! Lesson learned.

SUBSCRIBE for new posts every Family Friday!

Christine Terry, J.D., is the Founder & Owner of Terry Tutors, a Private Tutoring, Family Coaching, and Education Advocacy service dedicated to supporting the whole student. She writes this blog as an effort to help Moms & Dads Navigate Generation Z, Honestly. Want to Know More? Head on over to TerryTutors.com

2 thoughts on “When Life Hands You a Lemon Moment

What do you think?

